Figure & Motion: Self Portrait

1382782_10204360148911474_9186702342555542208_n

I used to be terrified of snakes. I would refuse to come close to this carnivorous member of the Serpentes family even if my life depended on it. Now, I can confidently say I’m not afraid of snakes anymore. I chose this picture because it captures the precise moment that I got over this lingering sense of Ophidiophobia. This picture was meant to say that the best way to get over one’s fear is to face it head on. Or in my case, have it coiling around one’s neck.

My main goal for this was to use high amounts of contrast to create depth. As my jacket is very dark and my skin is very bright. I’m proud of how the emblem on my jacket turned out as well as my jacket as a whole. This is the first time I really utilized the full potential of white charcoal to create a sense of depth.

In the future, I would hope to practice more with creating more realistic tones.

This entry was posted in Non-TimeBased and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment